Friday, December 06, 2019






ASWA Selects NFHS National Home Run Leader Libby Baker as 2019 Miss Softball Recipient

Dennis Victory |
   TUSCALOOSA -- The Alabama Sports Writers Association named G.W. Long’s Libby Baker its 2019 Miss Softball recipient as the top prep player in the state. Morgan Academy's Gunnar Henderson was selected Mr. Baseball by the ASWA and Haleyville's Scott McAlpine with the Jimmy Smothers Courage Award. The honorees were announced at the ASWA Convention Awards Banquet Sunday night.
   Baker, a Troy signee, led G.W. Long to its second straight Class 2A softball state championship, setting a single-season national record with 37 home runs this season. She also had a state best 101 RBIs and 2.058 OPS with 81 hits, 72 runs, 12 doubles, .559 average, .637 on-base and produced 2.4 runs per game. In the circle, Baker posted 20-1 record with five saves, 271 strikeouts (14.6 per 7 innings), 16 shutouts, five no-hitters and four perfect games. She had an 0.027 ERA, .048 WHIP and allowed only two home runs in 130 innings while opponents batted .077. Baker, who earned the Class 2A state tournament MVP in 2019, leads the ASWA Super All-State softball list along with Hewitt-Trussville's Hannah Borden, Holtville's Kaylyn Dismukes, Fairhope's Alea Johnson, Macon East's Madisyn Kennedy, Spanish Fort's Ainsley Lambert, Gardendale's Carlee McCondichie, Alabama Christian's Haley Pittman, Brantley's Kassidy Wilcox and Hayden's Savannah Woodward.
   Baker is the 17th Miss Softball and first G.W. Long player to earn the honor. Grissom’s Anna Thompson is the only two-time Miss Softball winner, earning the award in 2004 and 2006. Only Pisgah, Hueytown and Baker have multiple winners in the 17-year history of the award.

   Henderson, who was the first pick of the MLB Draft’s second round (42nd overall), was drafted by the Baltimore Orioles. He is also an Auburn baseball signee. He heads the Super All-State list and is joined by Hazel Green's Jordan Beck, McGill-Toolen's Chandler Best, Mobile Christian's Ethan Hearn, Springville's Braden Hughes, Oak Mountain's Jackson Kimbrell, Chilton County's Pico Kohn, Bob Jones' Dylan Ray, G.W. Long's Matt Snell and Providence Christian's Grayson Stewart.
    The Jimmy Smothers Courage Award, named for the former long-time Gadsden Times sports editor, honors an athlete who overcomes adversity to excel in sports. Haleyville's Scott McAlpine lost his sister to a heart condition when he was 6 years old and was diagnosed with Type I diabetes five years later. His father was diagnosed with a rare form of cancer when McAlpine was a freshman. McAlpine said football and baseball provided him with the courage and will to keep going.


2019 ASWA Super All-State Baseball

Mr. Baseball: Gunnar Henderson, Morgan Academy

Jordan Beck, Hazel Green

Chandler Best, McGill-Toolen 

Ethan Hearn, Mobile Christian

Braden Hughes, Springville

Jackson Kimbrell, Oak Mountain 

Pico Kohn, Chilton County

Dylan Ray, Bob Jones

Matt Snell, G.W. Long

Grayson Stewart, Providence Christian


ASWA Mr. Baseball Winners

2019: Gunnar Henderson, Morgan Academy

2018: Jeremiah Jackson, St. Luke’s

2017: Tanner Burns, Decatur

2016: Owen Lovell, Cullman

2015: Brax Garrett, Florence

2014: Cody Reed, Ardmore

2013: Keegan Thompson, Cullman

2012: Mikey White, Spain Park

2011: Daniel Koger, Huntsville

2010: Daryl Norris, Fairhope

2009: Luke Bole, Hartselle

2008: Tyler Stovall, Hokes Bluff

2007: John David Smelser, Hillcrest-Tuscaloosa

2006: Del Howell, American Christian

2005: Colby Rasmus, Russell County

2004: Patrick White, Daphne

2003: Joey Doan, Baker

2002: Allen Ponder, Lee-Scott Academy

2001: Eric West, Southside-Gadsden

2000: Wade Miller, G.W. Long

1999: Matthew Maniscalco, Oxford


2019 ASWA Super All-State Softball

Miss Softball: Libby Baker, G.W. Long

Hannah Borden, Hewitt-Trussville

Kaylyn Dismukes, Holtville

Alea Johnson, Fairhope

Madisyn Kennedy, Macon-East

Ainsley Lambert, Spanish Fort

Carlee McCondichie, Gardendale

Haley Pittman, Alabama Christian

Kassidy Wilcox, Brantley

Savannah Woodward, Hayden


ASWA Miss Softball Winners

2019: Libby Baker, G.W. Long

2018: Leanna Johnson, Brantley

2017: Annie Willis, Westminster Christian

2016: Ashlee Swindle, Curry

2015: Lacey Sumerlin, Baker

2014: Madi Moore, Winfield

2013: Kasey Cooper, Dothan

2012: Haylie McCleney, Mortimer Jordan

2011: Shelby Holley, Pisgah

2010: Leigh Streetman, Hueytown

2009: Hilary Phillips, Ider

2008: Lindsey Dunlap, Hueytown

2007: Whitney Larsen, Vestavia Hills

2006: Anna Thompson, Grissom

2005: Tara Donaldson, Baker

2004: Anna Thompson, Grissom

2003: Holly Currie, Pisgah


ASWA Jimmy Smothers Courage Award Winners

2019: Scott McAlpine, Haleyville (football, baseball)

2018: Anna Bryant, Pleasant Valley (volleyball)

2017: Ethan Hearn, Mobile Christian, (football)

2016: Alex Wilcox, Brantley (softball)

Comments are closed.