Friday, February 28, 2020






Mountain Brook’s Watford, R.E. Lee’s Broughton Named 2018 Mr. & Miss Basketball by ASWA

MONTGOMERY, Ala. – Mountain Brook High School junior Trendon Watford and Lee-Montgomery senior Zipporah Broughton received the Alabama Sportswriters Association’s top high school basketball awards Tuesday.
    The 6-foot-9 Watford was named Mr. Basketball and 5-9 Broughton was selected Miss Basketball.
    The awards are presented by ALFA Insurance and named by the Alabama Sports Writers Association.  The AHSAA’s Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association also hosts the luncheon.
Watford and Broughton were announced at a luncheon banquet at the Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center.
     Broughton, a Rutgers signee, led the Generals to the Class 7A semifinals, the best the Generals have ever advanced in the playoffs. She averaged 23.6 points this season and finished with 2,419 career points. She scored 2,045 points in three years at Lee to rank second in school history.
     Watford is a junior and helped Mountain Brook win the Class 7A championship for second year in a row. The Spartans also won their fourth state title in six years. He averaged 23.3 points on 63 percent shooting and averaged 12.3 rebounds.
    Broughton and Watford were also named Class 7A Girls’ and Boys’ Players of the Year by the ASWA. Forty-eight players, three girls and three boys in each of the AHSAA’s seven classifications and the AISA, were recognized as finalists at the luncheon Wednesday.
     ASWA Players of the Year in each class were:



7A: Zipporah Broughton, Lee-Montgomery; 6A: Caitlin Hose, Hazel Green; 5A: Maori Davenport, Charles Henderson; 4A: Karleigh Sledge, Deshler; 3A: Allie Craig Cruce, Lauderdale County; 2A: LaTascya Duff, Samson; 1A: River Baldwin, Pleasant Home; AISA: Shaquandria Holton, Glenwood.

7A: Trendon Watford, Mountain Brook; 6A: Kira Lewis, Hazel Green; 5A: Kobe Brown, Lee-Huntsville; 4A: Isaac Chatman, Cordova; 3A: Kam Woods, Midfield; 2A: Anquaevious Pollard, Lanett; 1A: Diante Wood, Sacred Heart Catholic; AISA: Lee Crawford, East Memorial.



(Top five players regardless of classification, based on points totaled in voting by the ASWA Prep Committee). First-place votes are in parentheses.


Trendon Watford, Mountain Brook – 77 (12); Diante Wood, Sacred Heart – 39 (1); Kira Lewis, Hazel Green – 28 (1); Jaykwon Walton, Carver-Montgomery – 16; Anquaevious Pollard, Lanett – 14.

Zipporah Broughton, Lee-Montgomery – 59 (8); Maori Davenport, Charles Henderson – 49 (3); Caitlin Hose, Hazel Green – 27; Claire Holt, Spain Park – 19 (1); LaTascya Duff, Samson – 17 (2).


2018: Zipporah Broughton, Lee-Montgomery

2017: Bianca Jackson, Brewbaker Tech

2016: Jasmine Walker, Jeff Davis

2015: Shaquera Wade, Huntsville

2014: Shakayla Thomas, Sylacauga

2013: Marqu’es Webb, Hoover

2012: Jasmine Jones, Bob Jones

2011: Hayden Hamby, West Morgan

2010: Kaneisha Horn, Ramsay

2009: Jala Harris, Bob Jones

2008: Courtney Jones, Midfield

2007: Katherine Graham, Ramsay

2006: Shanavia Dowdell, Calera

2005: Whitney Boddie, Florence

2004: Starr Orr, Speake

2003: Sidney Spencer, Hoover

2002: Kate Mastin, Boaz

2001: Donyel Wheeler, Huffman

2000: Natasha Thomas, Lawrence County

1999: Tasheika Morris, Butler

1998: Gwen Jackson, Eufaula

1997: April Nance, Butler

1996: Nicole Carruth, Sulligent

1995: Heather Mayes, Fyffe

1994: Pam Duncan, Carrollton

1993: Leah Monteith, Cherokee County

1992: Yolanda Watkins, Decatur

1991: Tonya Tice, Hamilton

1990: Karen Killen, Mars Hill Bible

1989: Leslie Claybrook, Saint James

1988: Jeaniece Slater, Hartselle



2018: Trendon Watford, Mountain Brook

2017: John Petty, Mae Jemison-Huntsville

2016: John Petty, J.O. Johnson

2015: Dazon Ingram, Theodore

2014: William Lee, Dallas County

2013: De’Runnya Wilson, Wenonah

2012: Craig Sword, Carver-Montgomery

2011: Trevor Lacey, Butler

2010: Trevor Lacey, Butler

2009: Kerron Johnson, Madison Academy

2008: JaMychal Green, St. Jude Catholic

2007: Courtney Fortson, Jeff Davis

2006: Stanley Robinson, Huffman

2005: Richard Hendrix, Athens

2004: Ronald Steele, John Carroll Catholic

2003: Ronald Steele, John Carroll Catholic

2002: Kennedy Winston, Blount

2001: Chris White, Grissom

2000: Gerald Wallace, Childersburg

1999: Marvin Stone, Grissom

1998: Sam Haginas, UMS-Wright

1997: Anthony Williams, Loachapoka

1996: Isaac Spencer, Jeff Davis

1995: Brian Williams, Jeff Davis

1994: Rod Willie, Lee-Huntsville

1993: Howard Pride, Butler

1992: Darryl Wilson, South Lamar

1991: Victor Newman, Houston Academy

1990: Cedric Moore, Woodlawn

1989: Queintonia Higgins, Fairhope

1988: Terrence Lewis, Ramsay

1987: Bryant Lancaster, Valley

1986: Larry Rembert, Keith

1985: Vincent Robinson, Bridgeport

1984: Jeff Moore, Midfield

1983: Terry Coner, Phillips-Birmingham

Comments are closed.