Friday, February 28, 2020






Spanish Fort’s Tyler Johnston named 2015 Mr. Football by Alabama Sports Writers Association

MONTGOMERY – Spanish Fort’s Tyler Johnston was named the 34th recipient of the Alabama Sports Writers Association’s Mr. Football Award on Wednesday at the ASWA’s annual Player of the Year Awards luncheon, presented by the Alabama High School Athletic Directors and Coaches Association. The annual luncheon was held at the Alabama Activity Center in Montgomery.

Johnston – a 6-foot-2, 210-pound senior quarterback – threw for 3,619 yards this season, completing 193 of 286 passing with 39 touchdowns and just nine interceptions. Johnson also had 129 carries for 750 yards for 13 touchdowns. Johnston was 35-0 as a starter, leading the Toros to state championships in 2013 and 2015 but missing most of the 2014 season with an ACL injury.

Johnston finished with 148 points and eight first-place votes from the ASWA’s prep committee, while Clay-Chalkville senior quarterback Ty Pigrome, the 2014 runner-up, had 139 points with four firsts. Gordo senior linebacker Ben Davis was third with 80 points, Clay-Chalkville senior wide receiver TJ Simmons was fourth (69) and Austin senior offensive lineman Deonte Brown was fifth (68).

Johnston was named the ASWA Class 6A Back of the Year and was chosen to the group’s Super 12 team. He participated in the Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Game and is a verbal commitment to UAB. He was also an ASWA first-team all-state selection at quarterback in 2013. He also played the last game and a half this season with a torn ligament in his elbow.

Johnston becomes the first quarterback to win the Mr. Football award since Carver-Montgomery’s Jeremy Johnson in 2012 and the seventh from the Mobile area, joining Tommy Compton (Vigor, 1982), Darrell Williams (Vigor, 1988), DeMarco McNeil (Blount, 1998), JaMarcus Russell (Williamson, 2002), Julio Jones (Foley, 2007) and T.J. Yeldon (Daphne, 2011).



1982 Tommy Compton, Vigor

1983 Freddie Weygand,
          Emma Sansom

1984 Roderick Green, Gardendale

1985 Pierre Goode, Hazlewood

1986 Larry Ware, Lee-Montgomery

1987 Robert Jones, Parker

1988 Darrell Williams, Vigor

1989 Steven Coleman, Pike Co.

1990 David Palmer, Jackson-Olin

1991 Robert Davis, Homewood

1992 Freddie Kitchens, Etowah

1993 Thomas Banks,
          West Jefferson

1994 Dawud Rasheed,

          Shades Valley

1995 Gorman Thornton, Jeff Davis

1996 Antoneyo Williams,         Central-Tuscaloosa

1997 Mac Campbell, Alexandria

1998 DeMarco McNeil, Blount

1999 Cory Whisenant, Springville

2000 Carnell Williams, Etowah

2001 Brandon Cox, Hewitt-Trussville

2002 JaMarcus Russell, Williamson

2003 Chris Nickson, Pike Co.

2004 Jarod Bryant, Hoover

2005 Andre Smith, Huffman

2006 Larry Smith, Prattville

2007 Julio Jones, Foley

2008 Clint Moseley, Leroy
2009 Coty Blanchard, Cherokee Co.
2010 Jamal Golden, Wetumpka
2011 T.J. Yeldon, Daphne
2012 Jeremy Johnson,

2013 Racean Thomas, Oxford

2014 Kerryon Johnson,
          Madison Academy

2015 Tyler Johnston, Spanish Fort

Back/Lineman voting lists top 3 vote getters only; Super 12/Mr. Football voting is top 12 only; 33 players received votes on the ASWA Super 12. Vote totals for the AISA were not available.

Class 1A Back
Terence Dunlap, Maplesville, 36
Grayson Wakefield, Decatur Heritage, 26
Tommy Spivey, Brantley, 23

Class 1A Lineman
Cameron Longmire, Georgiana, 19
Tanner Swinney, Hackleburg, 15
Devan Wallace, Maplesville, 14

Class 2A Back
Chadarius Townsend, Tanner, 66
Dilan Kilpatrick, Fyffe, 63
Peyton Gilliland, Cleveland, 50

Class 2A Lineman
Austin Lewter, Tanner, 63
Blaine Hudson, Elba, 50
Ethan Jones, Fyffe, 44

Class 3A Back
Taylor Hayes, Piedmont, 78
Kearvae Qualls, Colbert Co., 65
Pace Ozmint, Glencoe, 55

Class 3A Lineman
Ben Davis, Gordo, 53
Austin Troxell, Madison Acad., 41
Neonta Alexander, Piedmont, 29

Class 4A Back
Kaleb Barker, Priceville, 78
Tre’ Nation, Leeds, 68
Noah Ard, Cordova, 48

Class 4A Lineman
Josephus Smith, Leeds, 68
Dee Nalls, Fayette Co., 46
Sterling Jones, St. James, 36




Class 5A Back
Jordan Bentley, Guntersville, 55
Ostin McPherson, St. Paul’s, 47
Demarcus Williams, Jackson, 39

Class 5A Lineman
Marlon Davidson, Greenville, 69
Quinnen Williams, Wenonah, 59
Darius Whitfield, St. Paul’s, 45

Class 6A Back
Tyler Johnston, Spanish Fort, 79
Ty Pigrome, Clay-Chalkville, 75
TJ Simmons, Clay-Chalkville, 45

Class 6A Lineman
Deonte Brown, Austin, 81
Lyndell Wilson, Carver-Montgomery, 56
Thomas Johnston, Spanish Fort, 51

Class 7A Back
La’Mical Perine, Theodore, 20
Henry Ruggs III, Lee-Montgomery, 13
Kyriq McDonald, James Clemens, 10

Class 7A Lineman
Labryan Ray, James Clemens, 17
Walter Pritchett, Central-Phenix City, 15
Carlton Martial, McGill-Toolen, 11

Tyler Johnston, Spanish Fort, 148
Ty Pigrome, Clay-Chalkville, 139
Ben Davis, Gordo, 80
TJ Simmons, Clay-Chalkville, 69
Deonte Brown, Austin, 68
La’Mical Perine, Theodore, 65
Marlon Davidson, Greenville, 38
Lyndell Wilson, Carver-Montgomery, 37
Jordan Bentley, Guntersville, 37
Quinnen Williams, Wenonah, 32
Kaleb Barker, Priceville, 25
Kyriq McDonald, James Clemens, 25

Comments are closed.